The harm of having your email program's preview pane turned on and why you should not use it.

The preview pane is a feature built into many email programs that allows users to quickly view the content of a message without actually opening it. While this is a convenient feature, it also has the potential to put your computer at the same risk as opening a suspicious message.
For example, when using the preview pane feature, your email program may open an email message that you really didn't want to open. Further, if you have the preview pane turned on, there is no good way to delete the message without first previewing it.

To turn off the preview pane:

  • In Microsoft Outlook 2003 and 2007, select the View menu, navigate to Reading pane and click Off.
  • In Windows Mail, click on the View menu and select Layout. Under the Preview Pane section, uncheck "Show preview pane".
  • In Mozilla Thunderbird, drag the splitter of the message pane down, until the message pane is no longer visible, the reading pane then collapses.
  • In Mac's Mail application, drag the splitter of the message pane down, until the message pane is no longer visible, the pane then collapses.
  • In Microsoft Entourage, select the View menu, navigate to Preview Pane and select None.

___________________________________________________________


Computing Tips and Techniques are brought to you by the Information Technology Group for the purpose of sharing a wide variety of technology tips with its clients. The collection of these tips are protected by intellectual property rights, such as copyright. All intellectual property rights belong to the manufacturer of the software product in question.