When you delete a message, it is moved to the Trash folder.
Before you empty the trash folder, you can recover files from the Trash by dragging and dropping them into another folder.
If Recover Deleted Items displays when you right-click the Trash folder, you have the ability to recover email messages you deleted from Trash.
- Right-click on the Mail Trash folder and select Recover Deleted Items.
- Select one or more messages to recover.
- Click Recover To and select the destination folder or create a new folder.
- Click OK.
Items deleted from Trash can be recovered within 4 days. After 4 days, the items are permanently deleted.
Purging an Email Message from the Trash Folder
You can purge messages in Trash, which means the messages are permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
To purge or delete messages from Trash:
- Right-click on the Trash folder and select Empty Trash. All messages are permanently deleted.